Giveaway and Review : Woolzies Dryer Balls

Green-Resolutions

I’m excited to host my very first Giveaway! I’ve teamed up with the Green Moms Network to be part of the Green Resolutions Giveaway Hop, which is hosted by Happy Mothering and Mama Chocolate. There are a ton of eco-friendly giveaways in the Hop, including more chances to win dryer balls.

And that’s what we’re here today to discuss – dryer balls. Specifically, Woolzies.

woolzies

As some of you might know, a few months back I made some DIY dryer balls. I made two different kinds – some from felted wool sweater scraps, and some from wool yarn. I wanted to make a few from batting and roving as well, but those materials proved to be either too difficult to find or more money than I was willing  to experiment with. So, I crafted my own dryer balls – 4 of them, to be exact. I had no idea what size to make them (the tutorials I read said “tennis ball sized” but I sure don’t play sports), and even tho my sweaters were pre-felted from making diaper covers out of them, the dryer balls shrunk *quite* a bit with 2 months of daily use. The yarn balls didn’t shrink as bad, but one of them has already unravelled on me (Boo!). They were all admittedly cheap (damn near free) to make, but it took a TON of time and effort. We’re talking about an hour or so per yarn ball, and about 4 hours per scrap ball because I tacked down the beginning and end of each scrap to make them more stable. Someone might be awesome enough to do these things quicker – but this was a project I did while actively nursing a baby.

What does all of that have to do with Woolzies? Well, those 4 DIY balls I made might’ve only cost me $3 in cash – but they also took in total about 10 hours of work, a few more hours of research and material gathering, and then one of them fell apart. If at the very least you considered my valuable time to be worth minimum wage, those 3 dryer balls I have left cost me $90 ($87 in labor hours + material costs). As I’ve grown older, wiser, and busier, I now appreciate the real value of time. Woolzies come in a pack of 6, with a retail value of $34.95. That boils down to a little under $6 each – which is less than an hour of minimum wage (and quicker than I could personally make one with scraps or yarn).

So, let’s talk about some practical reasons to switch to Woolzies dryer balls:

  • Dryer sheets are annoying to buy. Anything that eliminates the need to ask myself “Do we need more..?” in the grocery store is a good thing. With dryer balls, there’s no more purchase upkeep to occupy your mind – you got ’em at home. They are “guaranteed to last for 1,000 loads or your money back.”
  • Dryer sheets are clingy! Ever gotten all the way to work and have a co-worker peel a dryer sheet off your clothes? It’s embarrassing. Finding a dryer sheet randomly on the floor because it unclung from its mystery fabric host is annoying.  Sifting thru a basket of finished laundry to find that sheet before it’s forgotten is also annoying.
  • Dryer balls reduce your drying time. With my DIY 4, we found this to be untrue – but I suppose it took either more or larger ones to really work. 6 Woolzies get my prefolds dry in one cycle, which the 4 DIY’s could never do. The company says it shortens by 25%, but all I know from personal testing is that it DOES shorten the time. And this saves you money from running that dryer less.
  • Good for allergies and sensitive skin. It’s one way to avoid the chemicals and scents in softening sheets, and doesn’t bother people with wool allergies.
  • Good for Cloth Diapers. This is the reason that converted me – it both softens and lowers the dry time for diapers.
  • Woolzies are quieter than some DIY options. My scrap and yarn balls were crazy loud in the dryer – I feared they were going to damage it. I can still hear the Woolzies through the closed laundry room door, but it’s a soft tumbling, not an alarming clanking.

woolzies2

This contest will run through January 30, 2013 at 9:01 pm PST  (January 31, 2012 at 12:01 am EST). The winner will be chosen the  following day and announced here on Nephrendil. No purchase necessary. US entries only. Must be 18 years or older to win. The sponsors provided me with free samples of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions are my own and only formed by my personal experience with the product. This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Facebook. You understand that you are providing your information to Nephrendil and not to Facebook.  Please note that Nephrendil, the Green Moms Network and the Green Resolutions event bloggers are not responsible for sponsors that do not fulfill their prizes. We have represented each sponsor with the expectation that they will fulfill their prize and in a timely manner. We will contact the sponsor regarding your prize(s). The sponsors, in most cases, are shipping their items to you directly. I will make every effort to assist you obtaining your prize. If there is an issue with a sponsor, please notify the blog you won a prize from within 4-6 weeks for assistance, after that we may be unable to assist you.

To enter the contest, open the Rafflecopter link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

57 Comments

  1. natalie nichols said,

    January 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    i hope to walk more often instead of driving. we already do a lot but since my son is getting older it’s more fun!

    • nephrendil said,

      January 17, 2013 at 12:41 am

      Commendable effort – the nearest grocery store is about 3 blocks away from me, but I just haven’t had the courage to take the baby that far on foot yet. The thought of babywearing and carrying gallons of milk etc kinda scares me 🙂

  2. Jennifer Johansen said,

    January 16, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    I plan to make all my own beauty products this year!

    • nephrendil said,

      January 17, 2013 at 12:36 am

      I’ve been wanting to make my own aloe shampoo, but I can’t find a tutorial I like! Everyone says castille soap, but I’d rather not..

  3. celina k said,

    January 17, 2013 at 7:38 am

    I plan on using reusable snack bags and experimenting with essential oils.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:41 am

      I’ve been wanting to make some snack bags! I’ve got a pile of PUL, but been wondering if I should buy some vinyl instead?

  4. Tania said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:17 am

    I made some dryer balls not to long ago from pinterest adn they did not felt and it was a disaster. im hoping to be able to try this option before i buy any more.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:43 am

      Making your own is tricky – so far my sweater scrap balls are still holding up, after almost 60 loads of laundry! But it took so VERY long to hand sew each scrap on both ends. Woolzies are for sure the easier and more efficient route! Good luck =)

  5. Gina Hodges said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:24 am

    I am in the proccess of switching to cloth diapers!

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:44 am

      I love my cloth diapers! Warning – it’s horribly addicting. If you have any questions, let me know.

  6. Amanda B said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:27 am

    I’m dehydrating my own fruit and hoping to start a garden to make my own spices 🙂

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:46 am

      We just started planning out herb and veggies to grow this year – up until now we’ve only had a wildlife habitat garden. Can’t wait to see how much it helps the food budget (and nice to think that some of our food won’t be costing the environment chemicals and transport fuel etc).

  7. jennifer f said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:42 am

    walk my kids to school instead of driving them
    good for them, good for me, and good for the environment

  8. Melinda C said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:45 am

    We are trying to use fewer paper products and more natural cleaning products.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:49 am

      I told my husband we could clean the whole house with vinegar and baking soda – he thinks I’m slightly nuts.

  9. Tosia said,

    January 17, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    We are cloth diapering and using less paper products in the kitchen (i.e. plates, towels, & cups)

  10. Sarah Hayes said,

    January 17, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    I will continue to use cloth diapers!

  11. Jessica R. said,

    January 17, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    I’m going to try to just use my reuseable water bottle.. Plastic ones are really bad and hard to break down.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 12:52 am

      I’m terribly guilty with this one… we recycle the plastic bottles, at least, so I feel SLIGHTLY better about it. But a reusable thermos type bottle would be way better.

  12. TaiLeah Madill said,

    January 18, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    We do a lot already – cloth diapers, reusable water bottles, reusable produce and grocery bags. I hope to get a few reusable straws and avoid plastic straws when out.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      Can’t say I’ve actually heard of reusable straws, what are they made of?

  13. Beth Rees said,

    January 18, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    We are planning on growing more vegetables this year. We have been growing our own for a while, but we are expanding out garden to save money and eat more organically

    • nephrendil said,

      January 18, 2013 at 10:19 pm

      It’s sad that eating organically usually means breaking the bank, if you don’t grow it yourself. Good luck and happy planting!

  14. nikki c said,

    January 20, 2013 at 12:15 am

    we’re switching to cloth diapers instead of disposables.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 20, 2013 at 7:56 pm

      Awesome, good luck! If you have any questions, just ask =) You’ll find the cloth diapering community to be pretty helpful in general

  15. January 20, 2013 at 11:29 am

    I want to start using more natural products

    • nephrendil said,

      January 20, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      Every organic switch is a little healthier for you and for the environment.

  16. Elle said,

    January 20, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I have ordered steel drinking straws and have switched to sulfates free soaps.

  17. Rhonda C said,

    January 20, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    We have started making our own Laundry soap and fabric softener, Lotion Bars, Body scrubs, and lip balms. we are hoping to expand our knowledge so that we can make our own elderberry syrup, and herbal tintures

    • nephrendil said,

      January 21, 2013 at 12:08 am

      Wow, sounds fun – do you grow the herbs etc that you use, or purchase essential oils?

      • Rhonda C said,

        January 21, 2013 at 12:14 am

        We grow Lemon balm, Chamomile, Basil, and a few others. We also purchase high quality oils when needed, always opting for certified organic oils.

  18. Kelly Tanner said,

    January 21, 2013 at 10:07 am

    We plan to build a windmill. It should be interesting!

  19. Michelle Lee said,

    January 21, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    I’m switching to mama cloth this year!

    • nephrendil said,

      January 21, 2013 at 7:50 pm

      This has been a topic of great debate in my house. Hubby is AGAINST the idea – I’m not sure I’m sold on the idea enough myself to try to change his outlook.

  20. Rachel said,

    January 22, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I’m hoping to try cloth diapering. I also just started making my own daily shower cleaner! (I’m not sure about the strong vinegar smell, though!)

    • nephrendil said,

      January 23, 2013 at 1:12 am

      We started using a 1/2 vinegar 1/2 water solution to clean the kitchen and bathroom – it DOES smell really strong at first.. but after 20-30ish minutes it seems to fade away. After a while I kinda associate the smell with cleanliness =)

      • Rachel said,

        January 23, 2013 at 9:57 am

        At least I like the smell of vinegar better than ammonia! Maybe I’ll try to mask the smell with something else next time, though:)

  21. January 23, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    Using reusable shopping bags and stop using paper towels.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 23, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      It’s so hard to remember to bring the cloth shopping bags into the store!

  22. Kristen Redman said,

    January 23, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    I plan to cloth diaper a baby from birth.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 23, 2013 at 7:36 pm

      We didn’t start for 2 months.. I was paranoid about the cord (at the time we had prefolds and I wasn’t sure how to fold them down). Will totally sew up some newborn fluff is we have another, tho.

      • January 28, 2013 at 9:32 pm

        Just a word of encouragement. My oldest is almost 21 and back then (in the dark ages, lol) I used prefolds and vinyl covers for her. I don’t remember anyone every worrying over the umbilical stump back then. Disposables didn’t come with special notches and certainly no one made special items for the cloth diaper market either. I just tucked the top of the cover under her little belly until the stump fell out.

  23. Nicole lewis said,

    January 25, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    We have switched to cloth diapers and mama cloth

    • nephrendil said,

      January 25, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      Awesome, I love CDs! Hubby is very against mama cloth, though

  24. golden storm said,

    January 25, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    using home made remedies for cleaning and health

    • nephrendil said,

      January 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      Always a good idea – household cleaners are some of the most chemical-laden things that society turns a really blind eye to. Thinking about sewing up some fleece swiffer pads at some point soon.

  25. January 26, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    This year I’m going to try and do as many craft and sewing projects as possible using what I already have.

    • nephrendil said,

      January 26, 2013 at 10:29 pm

      Cheers to that! I’m constantly looking up ways to repurpose or upcycle stuff around the house – started a small stash of “has to be useful somehow” stuff to work with (strings, thread spools, etc).

      • January 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm

        A “small stash”? My husband wishes that’s all I have, lol! My goal is to get enough projects done this year that my stash will be greatly reduced. I’ve already sent bags of stuff I’m never going to get to out the door via freecycle and the local charity thrift store.

  26. Andrew L. said,

    January 29, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    I plan to start using Unpaper Towels and to better monitor our water usage to be more “green”

  27. Anne W. said,

    January 29, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    I am going to cut back on buying bottled water and tote around my reusable water bottle instead!

  28. Maggie said,

    January 30, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    I am bummed I missed this…the blog hop said until 11:59 tonight and it is only 9:40


Leave a Reply

