AIO Cost Laments

Our cloth diaper stash is working well – currently we’re using a hybrid of prefolds + wool covers (both of which I sewed myself), and some super cheap one-size pockets I bought from Ebay (Baby Land). Because of our budget, and because we weren’t completely sure cloth diapering would work for us, we had (and have) a very small budget for cloth. Hence the $2 a piece Baby Lands – which DO work, but they have well documented, and personally verified, issues with leaks.

They don’t leak every time, maybe once out of every 10 changes, but those odds are still annoying and mean that at least once a day I have unexpected additional laundry to do – and who wants that? All of that being said, they’re $2. I knew to expect leaks, and for the cost vs value, I don’t regret the dozen we bought. My lament is that I’ve thus far been totally unable to try any OTHER kind of AIO or pocket. Would they leak less? Fit better? Pocket easier to stuff? My curiosity compells me to places my budget doesn’t allow. Even sewing them myself would be more expensive than buying more Ebay diapers. And it’s not like they’re total crap – so it’s very hard to justify a $15 purchase on a mystery diaper that may or may not be awesome, where I could use that same money to accumulate 6 or 7 more cheapies that have their small expected issues.

Here’s hoping that eventually I’ll win one of these giveaways! It might be my only chance to try other kinds of AIOs.

Leave a Reply

